Tags

, ,

looking ahead

Resetting and resuming personal finances. The numbers fell into disarray in my absence. I’m starting afresh in 2014.

This will be my fourth year of tracking pet finances at the House of Two Bows. This is an ongoing effort to get a practical sense of what it costs to keep two 20 ~ 30 pound adult dogs in an area of the US with relatively high costs of living. Previous posts in this series can be found under the category of finances.

The Cost of (Pet) Things for January 2014:

  • Food: $67
  • Treats: $50
  • Grooming: $0
  • Accessories and misc: $23
  • Vet & Medical: $0
  • TOTAL: $140

So I came back from Taiwan to find a depleted stock of kibble, a near-empty freezer (all the raw supplies had been consumed, minus a few portions of tripe), and about twelve pounds of remaining Honest Kitchen dehydrated food, still sealed in three four-pound bags. We’re sitting pretty on the expensive stuff for a while… Meanwhile, I’m reestablishing equilibrium with the Food reserves. This month’s purchases: a 12 pound bag of kibble (Fromm’s Salmon Tunalini), a bunch of raw organs, and several cans of canned pumpkin while it’s still available and on sale.

RJ and the subletter did, however, go through all the treats. I splurged via buy 3 get 1 deals at Pet Food Express. We are fully stocked on Honest Kitchen Beams now.

Finally, I picked up some supplies that are being sent off for a couple custom-made accessories, heavily discounted thanks to a generous gift from the Bows’ Aunt Maggie. I’ll display the results later…

20140205-100051.jpg