Tags

, , ,

Edit 14 May 2014: Received check. It took over two months, which is about as “good” as it ever gets, in my experience. Geez.

Edit 13 May 2014: Received an e-mail letting me know my Comfortis rebate was on the way. Maybe a step closer to an actual electronic tracking system?

Edit 1 April 2014: Aaaand the circus continues. I tried to submit a new online rebate request on 3.7.2014. Today I received a letter dated 3.24.2014 that they could not process my rebate “due to one or more of the following reasons: * original veterinary invoice not included; * original veterinary invoice did not clearly show purchase of Comfortis; * scanned vet invoice is illegible.” Trust me, I double-checked all those requirements before submitting my online rebate request because comments to this entry show that Elanco is clearly in the business of denying rebates. If anything was illegible or unclear, it’s only because they’ve got illiterate dimwits working for them. Damn straight I’m resubmitting my form, and keeping photocopies of everything in the meantime.


I’ve mentioned before how Bowdu’s allergies compel me to keep him on year-round flea medication. The drug I’ve chosen for the task is Comfortis, despite some concerns with their customer service I’ve posted about in the past. They typically offer a mail-in rebate, which we’ve cashed in each time we’ve been eligible.

This is the letter I received in response to my latest rebate request.

    Dear [my name, misspelled]

    Thank you for submitting your request for the Trifexis® (spinosad + milbemycin oxime), Comfortis® (spinosad), or Elanco product rebate offer.

    We appreciate your interest in this offer. However, we are sorry that we are unable to process your request at this time due to the following reason(s):

    • Package stamp(s) not included. Required package stamp(s) appear on top of product box. UPC Barcode from flap of product box is not the valid package stamp to receive rebate. Package Stamp Example: [example]

    If you need to request a new rebate form, please call our rebate customer care center at 1-800-983-9993.

    To resubmit your rebate request (if applicable), please return this letter along with any missing or correct information within the next 2 weeks to … [address]

    Please allow 8 – 10 weeks to receive your check after re-submission.

    Sincerely,

    Elanco

Elanco has really abysmal customer service

Dear Customer “Care” at Elanco, the makers of Comfortis® and Trifexis®,

Your rebate processing staff is either incompetent or dishonest, or quite possibly both.

Attached, you will find a copy of the original rebate form which I mailed the week of March 18, 2013. You will notice on my photocopy that the original package stamp you have requested was stapled to the form. Just to make it even MORE obvious than it originally was, I’ve circled the staple in blue highlighter.

I kept this photocopy for my own records because this isn’t the first time your rebate processing department has botched a seemingly simple request. Since your office lackey couldn’t even spell my name or my city correctly, I’m pressing my luck expecting them to not misplace my package stamp in the 12 seconds it takes to input my data into whatever antiquated rebate processing system you’re using. I mean really — in 1982, it might have been acceptable to take 8 to 10 weeks to get my check in the mail, but your people can’t even communicate what the hell happened over the phone, let alone track what happened by e-mail (though you’ve required me to give it with the sole purpose of spamming me…).

So as you can see, I can’t send you the “missing” information because I had already sent you the correct information in the first place.

Get your act together and give me my ten bucks already. I need it to buy myself some more chill pills because ineptitude like this makes me want to storm your office with a staple gun. Luckily you’re in Kansas and I’m in California and I don’t actually have a staple gun.

20130216 Graaaagh!

Edit: Just in case anyone wants to take offense on behalf of incompetent paper pushers the world over, I want to add that it took not one, but two calls to get the situation sorted out. The first person was clueless, which is part of what prompted this rant. The second person was lovely, and — wonder of wonders — managed to process my rebate without the need to resubmit information, and within two weeks, at that! So what was all the fuss on their end about in the first place?