Tags

, , , , , ,

20 October 2012

This is part of my ongoing effort to track our pet finances here at the House of Two Bows. Previous posts in the series can be found under the category of finances.

The Cost of (Pet) Things for December 2012:

  • Food: $59
  • Treats: $17
  • Grooming: $0
  • Accessories and misc: $0
  • Vet & Medical: $0
  • TOTAL: $76 (running average for 2012 ~ $157 / month)

Food was pretty simple last month. Stocked up on a bunch of chicken sales, and I went with a 4 pound box of Honest Kitchen Force, the grain-free chicken recipe, when our previous box of Embark was used up. Looking over my numbers, it appears that each $40 box lasts us about two months for two 20 ~ 30 pound dogs whose daily meals are intermixed with all sorts of other items. They also go through about 64 ounces of yogurt a month.

With food in abundance, I was not compelled to buy the Bows any special treats for the holidays. That’s right, the pets got NOTHING for Christmas — not from us, anyway. I did pick up a 6-pack of pig’s ears as part of their regularly scheduled pampering, and RJ dehydrated more chicken hearts as well.

No money was spent in any of the remaining categories. Meanwhile, I know in 2013 we’re going to start out on top in the Accessories category because the Bows were given a very generous gift certificate to 2 Hounds Design, whose collars I’ve admired for a long time! I haven’t decided how we’re going to use the funds yet, especially since there are so many gorgeous specialty designs to choose from. Of course the Bows will show off their new duds when I finally decide.

Overall, we spent significantly less in 2012 (approx. $157 per month for both dogs) compared to 2011 (~$247 per month), and I’ll consider why when I review the annual dog budget in a separate post. Finances and other circumstances are changing a bit in 2013, so I’m not sure if I can keep up this regular feature through the next year. Nevertheless, I’ve found it an incredibly useful exercise for my own purposes, even if I’m not blogging every step of the way.

20 October 2012