Tags

, , , , , ,

23 November 2012

This is part of my ongoing effort to track our pet finances here at the House of Two Bows. Previous posts in the series can be found under the category of finances.

The Cost of (Pet) Things for November 2012:

  • Food: $51
  • Treats: $10
  • Grooming: $0
  • Accessories and misc: $13
  • Vet & Medical: $0
  • TOTAL: $74 (running average for 2012 ~ $164 / month)

For food, I found lamb kidneys, and some good-looking liver from what appeared to be a very healthy pig! Confession: they came from a local hoity-toity butcher shop that I honestly have no business patronizing given my income. Further proof that I’m a Crazy Dog Lady: my dogs’ offal costs more per pound than most of the meat that I consume (sparingly, these days).

3 November 2012 Lamb kidney!

There was other stuff too, like two bags of Fromm kibble at BOGO Black Friday price, two packs of perfectly bite-sized turkey tails, and other meats. No, I didn’t spend $50 just on organs for the dogs this month!

Meanwhile, RJ’s efforts to make our own dog treats does seem to be paying off. Another round of chicken hearts were dehydrated and lasted the whole month, along with a small purchase of pork skin treats from the above-named butcher, and tendon chews at another place.

And for the third (and probably final) time this year, poop bags were purchased. I’ve always hated the idea of spending money on something that I’m literally throwing away… but this is one of those accessories that distinguishes modern pets as an economically vital and thus socially essential category. Considered in this light, paying for poop bags feels like a kind of civic duty to assert the relevance of dogs — yup, dogs do indeed count for shit!


So, I’m not entirely “back” yet. Things didn’t go exactly as hoped last month… Despite everyone’s words of encouragement (much appreciated!), I half saw this coming. Nevertheless, I’m still working on Plan A, version 2.

What can proceed according to plan are the fabulous giveaways lined up for the month, starting with the next post. Hint: we’ll be featuring a food brand that the Bows are very familiar with and amply approve. Stay tuned.