Tags

, , , , ,

This is part of my ongoing effort to track our pet finances here at the House of Two Bows. Previous posts in the series can be found under the category of finances.

The Cost of (Pet) Things for August 2012:

  • Food: $69
  • Treats: $0
  • Accessories and misc: $22
  • Vet & Medical: $79
  • TOTAL: $170 (running average for 2012 ~ $153 / month)

Food purchased included many pounds of MEAT, MEAT, MEAT. There were some deals at local grocery stores that were just too good to pass up, so now the freezer is fully stocked. I went to pick up a box of Honest Kitchen Preference to accompany the meat (with a 20% off coupon at my local petstore, so I paid $26.39 for the 3 lb box, which is going to last about 6 months if the last box was any indication). While there, I decided to snag a few cans of chicken-based Weruva.

20 August 2012 Weruva Funky Chunky Chicken Soup

I’ve never considered regularly feeding the dogs canned food primarily due to price and quality. But last month’s Pawalla haul convinced us that this brand is worth keeping on hand. This purchase also violates our typical rule of no processed chicken, but canned food is processed quite differently from kibble, and this probably won’t be a regular thing.

Pawalla, Salmon Ears, and PetsLoveToys (review forthcoming) kept us well supplied with treats, too. Honestly, I don’t blog for the schwag. And since it’s taken about two years of persistent effort for me to notice that blogging has contributed to zeroing out one pet finance category for one month, I definitely wouldn’t recommend doing this for the money!

As a grad student, I’ve gotten used to graciously accepting any kind of support. Just don’t tell my department that I’m willing to write for dog food.

In accessories, Bowdu’s replacement paracord leash arrived! Tony, who makes these leashes by hand, added an ingenious and simple modification so I’ll be able to clip the leash to my body and avoid a similar mishap like last time. Also got more supplies for packing up raw meals.

Finally, vet costs consisted of six more doses of Comfortis. The price I listed includes the company’s $10 rebate.

