Tags

, , , , ,

This is part of my ongoing effort to track our pet finances here at the House of Two Bows. Previous posts in the series can be found under the category of finances.

16 June 2012

The Cost of (Pet) Things for June 2012:

  • Food: $34
  • Treats: $0
  • Grooming: $0
  • Accessories and misc: $11
  • Vet & Medical: $237 $0
  • TOTAL: $45 (running average for 2012 ~ $149 / month)

At least something was easy this month — the area of pet finances. I’ve gotta admit that the Dog Budget iPhone app I installed last month really does the trick! It’s quite efficient for visualizing expenditures in appropriate categories, and having an instant total on hand really makes me keenly aware of my spending.

All food this month was in the form of raw and fresh food. Stocked up on sale turkey necks ($1.69 / pound), chicken drumsticks ($0.99 / pound), etc.

Other sale items included two 4′ leashes at $5 apiece, which I filed under accessories. They’re staying in the car as part of my dog emergency kit, just in case I need a backup when out traveling with the Bows, or if I come across a stray dog…

Extra dog leashes

The vet fees come from an incident at the busy dog park last Saturday, when someone else’s dog bit Bowpi. Unfortunately, I did have to spend a few hours with her in the pet emergency ward on a Saturday afternoon, but she is all right. It took a day of sulking for her to return to her usual Peepsy self. I debated whether I should blog about it. Since this incident slightly modifies how I will be utilizing dog parks, and I’ll probably refer to it in the future, I may as well mention it.

Ultimately, there is no need to fuss or fume, and for this I think we are fortunate. Anyway, since I’m expecting a full reimbursement, I’m striking that cost from the list.

30 June 2012 Peepsy had a bad day

