Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

THE COST OF (PET) THINGS: November 2011

  • FOOD: $59
  • TREATS: $40
  • ACCESSORIES & MISC: $13
  • VET/MEDICAL: $50

TOTAL: $162
(Running average for 11 months so far: $257 / month)

Food:
IMG_3477The usual meat here and there, a refill of enough fish oil to last us months, and something new: a bottle of inulin to “enhance calcium absorption” and “promote probiotic bacteria growth“. A 180 gram container cost $8.99 around my parts. I picked up a bottle manufactured by Jarrow Formulas. It’s going to last a long time since I’m only adding a couple pinches of this sweet powder to the Bows’ wet meals. I’m also adding some to my own diet, when I remember — funny how I am more consistent with the dogs’ supplements than I am with my own. Anyway, we’ll give this a couple months and see where it goes.

Treats:
The usual treats here and there. Also picked up two pieces of Merrick’s Porky Jerky Pumpers (pig heart), since we seldom see pork meat-based treats in the store, aside from ears and snouts.

IMG_3485IMG_3490

At $3.99 for each 2.5 oz shrink-wrapped pack, it felt like a rip-off. I think I’d rather swing through the local Asian market and get the dogs the real, raw thing.

Or maybe it’s time to just invest in a dehydrator. Any recommendations?

Accessories:
Bowdu got a basket muzzle.

Basket muzzle training
1 November 2011

Vet/medical:
The Basenji Health Endowment was subsidizing OFA Fanconi retests for dogs who had previously submitted saliva samples. Even though Bowpi had originally tested Probably Clear/Normal for the linked marker test, even though it was unlikely that a probably clear dog would have their results change to becoming “affected,” even though she is spayed, and even though we have no pedigree information for her, I still wanted to take advantage of this discount for my own peace of mind.

We haven’t gotten the results back yet, but I’m not worried.

Ablaze
20 October 2011

