Tags

THE COST OF (PET) THINGS: August 2011

  • FOOD: $15
  • TREATS: $0
  • ACCESSORIES & MISC: $0
  • VET/MEDICAL: $4

TOTAL: $19
(Running average for 8 months so far: $244 / month)

Unless the DD was secretly buying them veal cutlets and gator burgers while I was gone, all we needed this month were a couple tubs of yogurt, a fresh round of chicken backs and organs, and a bottle of generic Diphenhydramine. Some months you splurge, some months you save. But how come I spent sooo much less than July, yet only dropped the running average down by $30? Curse this math that resists my best efforts at frugality!

So now that I’m about three-quarters into this year of tracking our pet expenses, I wonder if it’s still possible to bring the monthly average down to $200 per month (or about $100 per dog per month). That, to me, sounds like it would be a reasonable estimate, but is it realistic given how we live? We’ll see…

For a background explanation on why I’m charting our monthly pet expenses, please check my first post in this series.

IMG_4936
4 May 2011

