Tags

, ,

I delayed this one because I knew the total would be much higher than desired, and I didn’t want to think about it. But whether or not I want to calculate what was spent last month, the money’s already gone, so might as well face the facts…

IMG_5906
2 June 2011

For a background explanation on why I’m charting our monthly pet expenses, please check my first post in this series.

THE COST OF (PET) THINGS: June 2011

  • FOOD: $58
  • TREATS: $10
  • ACCESSORIES & MISC: $24
  • VET/MEDICAL: $330

TOTAL: $422
(Running average for 6 months so far: $265)

I feel like I gave up on squeezing pennies this month after Bowpi’s eye emergency. But surprisingly, I spent only half of what I spent last month on food, though it felt like I was stockpiling a lot of raw meat (including half a dozen little quails, a pricey meal at about $2 a bird).

We also lucked out this month with a free bag of Castor & Pollux Organix, a giveaway from All Things Dog Blog. Since this brand only comes in a chicken-based formula, Bowpi has been the sole recipient of this prize. I’m actually not sure if we’re going to keep feeding it due to some possible food reactions experienced last month with a different food… anyway, I’ll explain in a forthcoming post.

Edit: Under “Miscellaneous,” Bowpi finally got microchipped at a low-cost clinic. For a mere $24 (after a $15 coupon), I thought it was better to be safe than sorry, what with the upcoming Fourth of July weekend.

Meds hit us hard. In addition to Bowpi’s vet visit, there was over $100 in refilled prescriptions between Bowdu’s Soloxine and both of their Comfortis. I’m a little miffed to discover that the price of the latter has increased significantly since we last refilled it in February. It was $83 for 6 doses after a $5 coupon this time (and no complimentary bonus dose, boohoo), which means that the total cost for a 6-pack has gone up $10. That’s hardly a minor, incremental increase. However, I checked 1-800-Petmeds and they want $97.99 for the stuff on “sale” (regularly $122.49!). So maybe I’ve got no room to complain…

Comfortis has been extremely effective since we started using it last August, and with the threat of allergies dogging us all summer, I don’t want to risk even a single flea bite that will set things off. That’s why I was expecting to keep them on year-round flea prevention. But at this rate, both for financial reasons and for the sake of decreasing the amount of drugs they ingest, I think we’ll skip the stuff from, say, November through February, or longer if we can help it at all.

