Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_6086
Photo taken 7 June 2011

Speaking of eyes…

I think one of the most difficult things about photographing dogs in action is lighting their eyes. Unless they’re looking up at me with full sun on their face, I find it hard to keep shadows from obscuring facial details. Or perhaps it’s something about the time of day when I happen to take many of my dog photos. I’ve noticed that dark Nosferatu-esque eye sockets seem to haunt many of my outdoor dog pictures, and because I’m an amateur, I have no idea how to go about correcting that.

The long and the short of it
30 March 2011. Are deerhounds supposed to have raccoon masks? I didn’t think so. For starters, I need to figure out how to work with backlighting.

IMG_5813
29 May 2011. Serious Dannii from the Troublemaker pack.

May we walk together?
10 May 2011. May we walk together? If only I could read your expression…

Irish Terriers
29 May 2011. Two Irish Terriers go wagwagwag. Okay, this one has focus issues in addition to lighting, but I like the composition.

And then there are some examples where I just have to admit defeat, like this Bouvier des Flandres.

Bouvier pup
5 May 2011

