Tags

,

Film: Poltergeist
Director: Tobe Hooper (screenplay by Steven Spielberg, among others)
Performers: Craig T. Nelson, JoBeth Williams, Heather O’Rourke, Zelda Rubinstein
Production: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, 1982 (USA)
Breed featured: Golden Retriever

The Doggy Daddy thinks this stands the test of time. I’m afraid I disagree. However, I didn’t find it terribly memorable as a kid either, perhaps because I was too afraid of being scared to pay attention (although I remember a lot more of other 80s horror films that were frequently aired on television). I remember Zelda Rubinstein’s voice and snippets of her speech, and I remember all the well-placed ads toys in the kids’ bedroom.

But I didn’t even remember that there was a dog in the movie.

Not that she (?) seems to have a name or do anything useful anyway. What good is having a dog in the house if they can’t even shield you from the paranormal?!

Since she does basically get the first scene, she’s significant enough for me to include in this blog.

