Tags

,

The ground squirrels or something have been awfully active at the local parks lately…

What's in the hole?
Photo taken 24 January 2011

At this same park, I once saw a dog stalk a hole until the squirrel got stupid enough to stick its head above ground. Prey located. Two powerful swipes of the dog’s forepaws into the dirt, a quick lunge down the shallow hole to snatch the thing, a crunch and a vigorous shake and a high toss into the air… and it was pretty much over. The dead or dying squirrel landed in a twitching lump right in front of Bowdu, who surprised me by gingerly sniffing it for a couple seconds then walking away. The other dog leapt in to claim her prize, and continued to worry the carcass as we walked away from the scene…

Rodent-killing is usual fare for some dogs, but not mine, so it caught me by surprise. I admit that I yelped when I saw the body fly up in the air, because it all happened so fast, I barely had time to process that this dog had just caught and killed something that just happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

IMG_0345

Bowdu has caught a single house mouse before, but it wouldn’t surprise me if Bowpi develops into a greater hunter. She’s eager to poke her nose into other dogs’ finds (if not their behinds). I think she’s fast enough to snag one if she cornered something and it attempted to dart away.

IMG_0346

That other dog in the above two pictures is not Bowdu, nor is she a Shiba. Rather, it’s the most Shiba-like Korean Jindo I’ve ever met. From a distance, I mistook her for a Japanese Akita, but I was corrected. I guess the difference is in the carriage of the tail, her leanness, and other details that I have not developed an eye for. She was accompanied by another Jindo that was more like Jindos I’ve seen in the past — a squarer muzzle and a thicker build. I didn’t get a good picture of the other one, though.

