Tags

,

IMG_9881
Photo taken 4 January 2011

We went to a new (to us) trail on Wednesday. I’m eager to go back.

IMG_9845

IMG_9864

Bowdu stays out of muddy puddles, but he will wade if the body of water is clear and expansive, like a lake or the ocean. Getting wet also gives him the zoomies, which makes him want to run all over the place…

IMG_9866

… but he always stays within sight.

IMG_9867

IMG_9858

I’m so impressed by how nimble-footed both dogs are. Bowpi, whose paw pads used to be so soft that they’d get scuffed on regular sidewalk, has no trouble following right along. She may have spoiled me for any Basenji we may have in the future, because she is so responsive and seems so eager to be good. Her biggest distraction is other dogs; she’ll ignore me when there are ungreeted canines in the vicinity. And I keep in mind that she does get spooked by sticks, since this lake is apparently a favorite site for LARPers.

Tucked away from cars or any other moving vehicles, including bikes, this lake felt safe. That is always my primary criteria before even considering letting either dog off leash.

Of course, there’s more to it than that. I’m kind of maxed out on the subject of off-leash Shiba/Basenji for now, though I encourage you to revisit it in recent blog posts over at A Winnie Day and The Misadventures of a Shiba Inu. Basenji owners weigh in on this long thread over on the Basenji Forums.

