Tags

, , ,

Not everything RAW is happily consumed here…

Raw parsley? Ick.
Photos taken 23 November 2010

“Raw parsley? Ick.”

Raw squash? Ptooey.

“Raw squash? Why the hell did you give me this crap? Ptooey.”

Raw carrot? I can help you with that.

“Raw carrot? Ooh, I like. I can help you with that one.”

Bowdu’s list of favorite fruits and veggies:

  • raw carrots
  • bananas
  • apples
  • fresh Michigan blueberries
  • watermelon
  • cantaloupe
  • persimmons (no seeds!)
  • steamed green beans
  • canned pumpkin
  • BAKED SWEET POTATO

Though Basenji are also supposed to be quite fond of fruits and veggies, Bowpi only seems to like mushy orange things: sweet potato and pumpkin. Maybe I should offer her some steamed, soft carrots.

I sometimes steam a batch of green beans, chop them up and toss some into doggy dishes, but I stopped adding them to Bowpi’s meals because I’d come back to find a sloppy ring of barely-chewed green bits strewn around the circumference of her bowl. And jerky treats wrapped around fruit, like Dogswell Veggie Life Chicken and Apple treats? She’ll nibble all the meat around the fruit and then spit the chunk right back out if she accidentally ingests it. Oh well. We don’t buy those anymore anyway, not since we cut out all processed chicken from their diet and since we found out they are manufactured in China.

By the way, you see how nice Bowdu’s paws look now? Isn’t it great? So all y’alls coming to the House of Two Bows looking for foot-licking videos will have to go somewhere else for the time being, thanks.

