Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So after all my running around trying to get thyroid meds for Bowdu, we finally got the prescription filled at…

Drumroll, please

My original VCA.

Yeah, that’s how it worked out.

On Monday, I finally picked out a new vet. I went in and scheduled a follow-up blood draw for Bowdu’s thyroid panel, to be done in a couple weeks. Bowpi’s also going in for a tech appointment, during which they’ll evaluate her teeth and offer an estimate for dental work. Then I showed them the written prescription from my old vet, and asked if they said they would be able to fill it. The vet tech was sympathetic to my explanation, but after consulting with the doctors, had to tell me that legally, they could not fill my prescription because they had not yet seen Bowdu. I’m not sure if they were following AVMA guidelines, state law, or some other policies, but since I was already mentally prepared for rejection, it came as no shock.

They suggested I try a human pharmacy. So I went to Walgreen’s. Surprisingly, they presented the least resistance, and were all set to send me out the door with sixty pills of Levothyroxine until I realized they were going to sell me a generic brand for $32.99 (or, I could sign up for their pharmacy savers program for $20, then the price would be $10.99). I had been advised not to get the generic version, as dogs don’t seem to absorb it very well. As I soon realized, Soloxine is a brand name manufactured by Virbac that is specifically formulated for animal absorption. That is what is written on my prescription, and even though it wasn’t coming up in Walgreen’s database of drugs, the pharmacist just took my word that Levothyroxine was the same drug.

So even a human pharmacy was no use. Today, we trekked back up to the old VCA one last time. I had no intention of entering the clinic again after I “broke up” with them, but the Doggy Daddy was willing to oblige. Meanwhile, I took the dogs around the block for their daytime walk. Bowdu remembered the neighborhood, as he was moving cagily the entire time and pooped within a block, which he does when he’s anxious. He CHARGED the car when the Doggy Daddy came back and I gave the cue to pack up and go home.

The Doggy Daddy said that the VCA receptionist was surprised that the prescription was so hard to fill. Har, har, har. If they had just faxed the prescription to PetMeds in the first place (a Vet-VIPPS approved online pharmacy), NONE OF THIS WOULD’VE BEEN HARD AT ALL! PetMeds cannot legally accept faxed copies from private customers, only veterinary clinics, so I would have had to mail the paper prescription in. By the time I realized that every clinic in town was going to refuse to fill my prescription, we were down to four days worth of meds. Four days (including Sunday) to get a piece of paper across the country, an order processed, and shipped from whatever originating warehouse to my dog who needed his daily thyroid medication. The funny thing is that even if we had requested next day air shipping, the total cost would have been less than the $24.70 that the VCA charged us again.

And this time, they weren’t even good enough to put an expiration date on the bottle. It just says **/** where a date should be. I wonder if this batch is coming from the same bottle that is set to expire 10/10 like the batch they gave us last month, and so they just “conveniently” forgot to enter the expiration date on the label. I wouldn’t put it past them.

IMG_7759
Photo taken 21 August 2010

