Tags

, , , ,

Let’s see how the ‘Du is doing…

IMG_7573
Photo taken 11 August 2010

Fur growth — check! Looking really great on his legs and feet, actually. I credit a combination of the Cone of Shame Pride! and Triumph!, vigilance (I watch him like a hawk and put his cone back on if I so much as hear him lick his tootsies), and probably the better diet. I doubt it’s because of any of the lotions we put on him and only indirectly because of the drugs we’ve given him, which stave off discomfort at best.

On the pharmaceutical front, he’s got two doses (four days) of Temaril-P left. Then we’ll only have Benadryl/Diphenhydramine to give him if it really gets bad.

IMG_7572
Photo taken 11 August 2010

What continues to concern me is the bald spot on his neck. This is sometimes accompanied by a musky odor (despite having bathed him less than a month back). The thing is, he really BANGS his cone against doors, especially the back door leading to the yard, when he’s eager to get out in the morning. No doubt the impact chafes his neck and maybe even pulls fur right off. Generally, we keep the cone on very loose and unbuckled, when it’s on him at all.

IMG_4508
Photo taken 3 August 2009

The other thing is, he is still blowing his coat… his fur always looks a bit scraggly at this point in the summer. The above picture was taken about this time last year, for the sake of comparison. His skin was noticeably pinker last summer, and the overall hair loss more extreme. So I wonder if the smell is a result of natural body oils that are working to balance out seasonal dermal reactions. He only smells bad because his coat’s transitioning, not necessarily that his coat is all messed up and therefore his skin smells bad? I think last year, his coat (and scent) was back to normal by mid to late September… I can’t remember exactly, which is one reason why I want this blog to keep track of such changes.

Before I jump to more serious conclusions [like hypothyroidism, which is something I’ve been mulling over — research and vet visits still pending], I also saw one more thing on the Primal Pet Foods website that might explain this bald patch:

Detoxification

As you begin to introduce your pet to this new diet, you may notice changes in physical appearance. Do not be alarmed. This is simply the natural process by which pets heal themselves by eliminating toxins from the body. Discharge from the eyes, excess wax in the ears, loss of coat, minor skin rashes and soft, loose stool are just a few of the common signs. [Emphasis mine]

The fur pulls off Bowdu’s “mantle” area easily, but no moreso than other Furminatable parts of him at the moment. And he hasn’t been scratching himself about the neck, though he’s carved a fresh scabby spot into his armpit with his back leg in the last couple days. I suspect that’s due to a flea bite. Like I said… does it never end?!

While the above description doesn’t sound great, I’ll buy the “detoxification” explanation for the time being because Bowdu has never enjoyed eating more than he does now. Summer has turned me into a night owl, such that I’m often awake until 4 or 5 AM. Since switching over the Primal Raw, Bowdu has mercilessly insisted I wake up between 10-10:30 AM, whimpering and licking my hand to tell me HEY, IT’S YUMMY NUGNUG TIME AGAIN, OKAY?

IMG_7513
Photo taken 9 August 2010

Cripes, it’s like he thinks he’s king of the world or something.

