Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is my third year of tracking our pet finances here at the House of Two Bows. This is an ongoing effort to get a practical sense of what it costs to keep two 20 ~ 30 pound adult dogs in an area of the US with relatively high costs of living. Previous posts in this series can be found under the category of finances.

20130413 Down for the count

The Cost of (Pet) Things for March 2013:

  • Food: $66 [previous month, $72]
  • Treats: $11 [previous, $9]
  • Grooming: $7 [previous, $8]
  • Accessories and misc: $0 [previous, $0]
  • Vet & Medical: $0 [previous, $265]
  • TOTAL: $84 (running average for 2013 ~$162/month)

Why are you photographing my foooood?

Kibble-wise, we seem to be swimming in a constant stream of Fromm’s. It helps that I’ve accumulated quite a few nice coupons, including the latest one for a free 4-pound bag of Salmon Tunalini with the purchase of any 12-pound bag. This happens to be my favorite Fromm formula (see review), so we stocked up on sixteen pounds of this grain-free, fish-based kibble.

I am intrigued by Fromm’s new grain-free Pork & Peas recipe, which we’ll probably try with the next coupon I’ve reserved. This month, I made the mistake of purchasing a small bag of the new Taste of the Wild Southwest Canyon formula, which hypes the Wild! Boar! in the recipe. In my mind, I had cleared it as a “pork-based” kibble, when it’s really no such thing. You’ve got to get through beef (first ingredient) and lamb meal, as well as several other ingredients, before you even get to the wild boar…

Wild boar mentioned 3 times. Beef, lamb, ocean fish, etc. not mentioned at all until list of ingredients.

Wild boar mentioned 3 times. Beef, lamb, ocean fish, etc. not mentioned at all until list of ingredients.

Though it’s my fault for not looking carefully, I hate it when pet food companies do this. Grr…

Not that the Bows have been complaining. I’ve been feeding it in low ratios, generously cut with Salmon Tunalini. What a ridiculous protein medley though! The Bows usually don’t get beef at all (except a bully stick or some tendon every now and then, and some buffalo kibble for training). So far, their digestive response has been okay, so maybe this will work after all… but I still wouldn’t use it for our regular rotation.

Some yogurt, raw organs, and turkey parts rounded out the food purchases this month, as well as treats for the dehydrator. Also bought some Zuke’s dental chews that were half off on clearance. These are the first commercially produced treats I’ve purchased all year!

The most important, though slightly overpriced grooming item this month was this tick key.

Tick keyTick key

After years of hiking, sometimes even in deep woods, and only two ticks in all our years, we ran into three ticks in the course of two days — one on Bowpi, one on Bowdu, and one on RJ. When I saw the first one, I drove directly to the nearest pet store and picked this up. It really does do the trick with minimal fuss, which was particularly important for Bowdu. Hopefully now that I have one, I won’t have reason to keep using it.

20130409


In other news, looks like the floodgates have been opened on Packlove.com, a new design-oriented social network for dog lovers. Lots of people are handing out invites lately. We have quite a few left too, so if you’re interested, just leave a comment with your e-mail filled out in the form (the e-mail will only be visible to me), and we’ll send you an invite ASAP!

The House of Two Bows can be found at:

http://packlove.com/Bowdu

http://packlove.com/Bowpi

Bowpi is also planted on the site somewhere other than her profile. Did you spot her yet?

